A thank you to all my fundraising supporters

Hi to all my generous supporters!

This note is to say a huge THANK YOU for your donation to my fundraising efforts for the Auckland Half-Marathon. With your help, I raised a whopping $1,430.00. Together with the other fundraisers running the half and full marathon, we raised a total of $11,386 for ChildFund. Thank you for your help and support. I had a great time running my first Southern Hemisphere half-marathon.

01It started with an early morning ferry from Auckland across the Waitemata Harbour to the North Shore suburb of Devonport.

.

.

.

.

 

01We ran the first half of the race around the somewhat hilly streets of charming Devonport. Then at the halfway mark, we encountered this Maori group performing songs. It was quite inspiring and kept me trucking right along, after slowing to snap this picture, of course. But what a perfect Kiwi sight!

.

.

03.

.

Then we ran along the Northern Motorway, our destination — the Auckland skyline — in view.

.

.

.

02

.

.

And then, just before the base of the Harbour Bridge, our last big hill, we passed this drum group. That got me pumped for the bridge!

.

.

.

And once we were over the bridge, there were only a few more kms to go, (although it felt like an eternity!).

05I crossed the finish line in 1:59:12, not my fastest time, but one that allowed for a few photo ops, and for a general sense of enjoyment. For the first time, I finished a half-marathon with the desire to attempt a full marathon! What?!? I know! Here are Sean and I after he finished the full marathon. I was happy, he, not so much. (What was that I said about wanting to attempt a full marathon?)

.

Thanks again for your generous support! Your contributions kept me motivated during my training, and went to a good cause!

Best wishes!

Sarah

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

